• Implementation
  • Eligible

The GFF currently supports 27 low- and middle-income countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America with the highest maternal, newborn and child mortality burdens and large gaps in financing to address these challenges.

Since its creation in 2015, the GFF has expanded from four “frontrunner” countries to 27 countries today. Following its replenishment in November 2018, the GFF is now aiming to expand its support to the 50 countries with the greatest health and nutrition needs.

A total of 67 countries are currently eligible to receive GFF support. Countries are selected to receive support through a process that aims to balance country demand with available resources. Once countries express interest in receiving support, the GFF’s Investors Group assesses countries based on the following criteria:

  • Disease burden
  • Unmet need related to sexual and reproductive health and rights
  • Income status
  • Comparison of financing vs. need
  • Commitment to increase domestic financing for reproductive, maternal, newborn, child and adolescent health and nutrition (RMNCAH-N)
  • Commitment to use World Bank (IDA/IBRD) financing for RMNCAH-N
  • Commitment to mobilize additional complementary financing and/or leverage existing financing
  • Commitment to engage private sector resources to improve RMNCAH-N outcomes
  • Commitment to the Every Woman Every Child Global Strategy
  • Existence of/or plan for an effective, broadly representative country platform

The Investors Group also considers geographical diversity in the overall GFF portfolio and the ability for countries to contribute to the learning agenda. The GFF’s Trust Fund Committee has final decision-making authority over country selection.


List of Countries Eligible for GFF Trust Fund Financing