Mozambique

En tant que pays de la seconde vague du GFF, le Mozambique saisit les  opportunités offertes par le GFF  pour mobiliser un financement durable au profit d’interventions à fort impact axées sur la santé de la reproduction, de la mère, du nouveau-né, de l’enfant et de l’adolescent(e) (SRMNEA)et catalysant des résultats. Le pays en est actuellement au début du processus du GFF.

Government Contact

Ministério da Saúde

Government

État des lieux

Au cours de la dernière décennie, le Mozambique a considérablement réduit ses taux de mortalité maternelle et juvénile. Entre 1997 et 2011, la mortalité infantile est passée de 135 à 64 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes ; la mortalité des enfants de moins de cinq ans a été divisée par deux, passant de 201 à 97 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes. En outre, la mortalité maternelle a été réduite de 692 à 408 décès pour 100 000 naissances vivantes (EDS, 1997 et 2011). Cependant, malgré ces progrès, la mortalité maternelle est encore élevée, la population reste sous-alimentée — 43 pour cent des enfants de moins de cinq ans présentent un retard de croissance (DHS, 2011) —, et les disparités socio-économiques persistent. Par exemple, 89 pour cent des femmes qui font partie du quintile le plus riche accouchent en présence d’un personnel qualifié, contre 31 pour cent des femmes dans le quintile le plus pauvre (Countdown, 2015).  

Plateforme nationale 

TLe Mozambique s’appuie sur une plateforme de coordination existante du secteur de la santé  pour mobiliser  diverses parties prenantes nationales et internationales, notamment le secteur privé, en faveur de la SRMNEA. Afin d’assurer une conduite efficace du processus mis en place par le GFF, le Ministère de la Santé a constitué un groupe d’action spécifique, supervisé par le Directeur National de la Santé Publique. 

Dossier d’Investissement

Le Mozambique s’attache actuellement à définir ses priorités d’investissement sur la base de données factuelles. Ce processus implique une analyse des besoins des populations, des régions et des provinces en matière de SRMNEA, ainsi qu’une analyse  des principaux obstacles entravant le bon fonctionnement du système de santé. Ce processus suppose également d’examiner les interventions à base communautaire, les interventions ancrées dans les formations sanitaires et les interventions de proximité afin de déterminer la combinaison d’interventions la plus susceptible d’accroître l’utilisation ainsi que la couverture des services de SRMNEA et cela, de manière durable. En plus de ces interventions à fort impact, le Dossier d’Investissement inclura des interventions destinées à renforcer le système national de santé.

Plusieurs partenaires ont fait part de leur volonté d’engager des  ressources ou d’aligner  leurs financements en fonction du Dossier d’Investissement. Ces partenaires incluent le Département Britannique du Développement International (DFID) ; Gavi, l’Alliance pour la Vaccination ; le Fonds Mondial de lutte contre le Sida, la Tuberculose et le Paludisme, le Gouvernement des Pays-Bas ; et, la Banque Mondiale, avec des financements de l’Association Internationale de Développement (IDA) et du Fonds Fiduciaire du GFF. 

Stratégie de financement de la santé

Les autorités mozambicaines piloteront l’élaboration d’une stratégie de financement de la santé visant à la fois à mobiliser des ressources nationales, notamment à travers le  secteur privé et grâce à des gains d’efficience, et à attirer des financements extérieurs supplémentaires. Le développement de cette stratégie s’appuiera sur les travaux en cours au Ministère de la Santé et visera  à faire le point sur les moyens financiers actuels, à définir des solutions réalistes pour remédier aux déficits de financement existants et à établir un plan de mise en œuvre.

Mozambique

As a second wave GFF country, the government of Mozambique is seizing the GFF opportunity to mobilize sustainable financing to support high impact reproductive, maternal, newborn, child, and adolescent health (RMNCAH) interventions and catalyze RMNCAH results. The government of Mozambique is currently at the early stages of the GFF process.

Ministry of health contact

Ministério da Saúde

Government

RMNCAH profile

Over the past decade, Mozambique has seen considerable progress in maternal and child mortality rates: infant mortality dropped from 135 to 64 deaths per 1,000 live births; under-five mortality was halved from 201 to 97 deaths per 1,000 live births; and maternal mortality declined from 692 to 408 deaths per 100,000 live births during the period 1997–2011 (DHS, 1997 and DHS, 2011). Despite these improvements, maternal mortality remains high; undernutrition subsists—with 43 percent of children under five being stunted (DHS, 2011)—and disparities persist—for instance, 89 percent of women in the richest wealth quintile deliver with a skilled provider compared to 31 percent in the poorest wealth quintile (Countdown, 2015). 

Country platform

The government of Mozambique is leveraging an existing multistakeholder coordinating platform in the health sector to mobilize a wide range of national and international RMNCAH stakeholders, including the private sector. To efficiently drive GFF processes, the Ministry of Health also established a dedicated task force, led by the national Director of Public Health.

Investment Case

The government of Mozambique is currently focusing on an evidence-based process of prioritization inherent to the development of an Investment Case. This process seeks to analyze RMNCAH burdens across and between people, regions, and provinces, and examine key impediments to health system performance. It will also help explore community-based, facility-based, and outreach interventions, and determine which combination would be most likely to effectively and sustainably increase RMNCAH utilization and coverage. In parallel to these high impact interventions, the Mozambican Investment Case is planned to also comprise health systems strengthening interventions.  

A number of partners have expressed interest in either engaging resources or in aligning their financing in support of the Investment Case, including the Department for International Development (DfID), Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance, the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, the government of the Netherlands and the World Bank, with financing from the International Development Association and the GFF Trust Fund.

Health financing strategy

The government of Mozambique will lead the development of a health financing strategy to mobilize domestic resources—also leveraging resources from the private sector and through efficiency gains—and attract additional external funding. The development process will build on the Ministry of Health’s ongoing work and seeks to assess the current health financing situation, develop realistic options for addressing existing financing gaps, and design an implementation plan.

Results

Countries will be responsible for tracking progress on the indicators contained in the results framework of their Investment Cases. Information about progress will be made available on this site as it becomes available to the Secretariat.

Partners

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Financier


US$ 75 million to the GFF Trust Fund
A founding donor of the GFF and key partner for financing, governance, and advocacy

Department for International Development of the United Kingdom

Department for International Development of the United Kingdom

Financier


US$ 180 million to the HRITF (precursor to the GFF Trust Fund)
A key partner of the GFF on co-financing and governance and financier of the HRITF

Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance

Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance

International organization



The GFF complements Gavi’s work in-country, harmonizing financing wherever possible. Gavi is a member of the Investors Group

Global Affairs Canada

Global Affairs Canada

Financier


CAD 220 million to the GFF Trust Fund
A founding donor of the GFF and key partner for financing, governance, advocacy as well as CRVS

Norad

Norad

Financier


US$ 600 million to the GFF Trust Fund
A founding donor of the GFF and key partner for financing, governance, and advocacy

The Global Fund for AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

The Global Fund for AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

International organization



The Global Fund for AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria and the GFF look for synergy and complementarity in their country-based investments. The Global Fund is a member of the Investors Group

The World Bank Group

The World Bank Group

Multilateral organization



The World Bank (WB) hosts the GFF Secretariat and the GFF Trust Fund whose fiduciary arrangements are integrated into IDA/IBRD projects approved by the WB Board. The WB is a member of the Investors Group.